IMG_0418
the perfect place for making memories

The Lanes is situated in the small market town of Wirksworth on the southern edge of the Peak District. 

On a Royal visit, Prince Charles once referred to the town as ‘Quirksworth’ and that description suits it perfectly!

Despite its industrious past Wirksworth is best known today for its independent shops and cafes, an annual arts festival, bustling music scene and dozens of artists and creatives who live and work in the town.  It is also well served with pubs!

Wirksworth is wonderfully placed to explore all that the  Peak District has to offer, from countless outdoor activities to the many surrounding towns in the area.  Matlock, Ashbourne, Bakewell, Carsington Water, Haddon Hall and Chatsworth are all within very easy reach.  The high peak trail is on  

our doorstep along with other glorious walking.  Wirksworth is a lovely place to explore with lots of ‘hidden’ alleyways and houses.  The visitor centre provides a wealth of information on the town’s history and runs events and walking history tours.

A stay in Wirksworth opens the doors to a world of contrasting natural beauty with moors and dales, rivers, springs and caverns and with bustling market towns, pretty villages, historic houses and hundreds of traditional events.  There is so much to do and explore, please see some of the highlights below. 

For more information the tourist information website http://www.visitpeakdistrict.com and the Wirksworth website http://www.gowirksworth.com are worth a visit.

Sue & Helen

ACTIVITIES

Walking 

Climbing

Water Sports – Carsington Water http://www.carsingtonwater.com/

Cycling http://ohire.co.uk

Fly fishing

Golf

Local markets

The Northern Lights Cinema –  independent cinema http://www.thenorthernlightcinema.co.uk/

Alton Towers  https://www.altontowers.com/

TOWNS & VILLAGES

Wirksworth 

Cromford

Ashbourne

Matlock & Matlock Bath

Bakewell

Hartington

Tissington

Ashford in the Water

Bonsall

HISTORY

Cromford Mills  https://www.cromfordmills.org.uk/

Ecclesbourne Valley Railway https://www.e-v-r.com/

Cromford Canal  http://www.cromfordcanal.info/

Star Disc http://stardisc.org

Chatsworth http://chatsworth.org

Haddon Hall  http://haddonhall.co.uk

Crich Tram Museum  http://tramway.co.uk

Peak District Lead Mine Museum http://peakdistrictleadminingmuseum.co.uk

Blue John Caves  http://bluejohn-cavern.co.uk

Wirksworth Heritage Centre  http://wirksworthheritage.co.uk

The Stone Centre  http://www.nationalstonecentre.org.uk/

EVENTS

Wirksworth Festival (Sept) http://wirksworthfestival.co.uk

Antiques in the Street (July)  http://gowirksworth.com

Annual Book Festival (Apr)

County Shows – Ashbourne (Aug) http://ashbourneshow.co.uk, Derby (June) http://derbyshirecountyshow.org.uk, Manifold Valley (Aug) http://manifoldshow.co.uk, Ashover (Aug) https://www.facebook.com/ashovershow/, Hope (Aug) https://www.facebook.com/thehopeshow

Chatsworth – RHS show (June) http://rhs.org.uk, Horse Trials (May), Country Fair (Aug/Sept), Christmas Market (Nov/Dec) .chatsworth.org

Hartington Wakes (Sept) http://hartingtonwakes.co.uk

Brailsford Ploughing Match (Oct) http://brailsfordploughingmatch.org.uk